In the same area is a long wall with a 100-meter long porcelain mosaic called Fürstenzug. It is the ‘Procession of the Dukes’ displaying the rulers of Saxony. Nearby is the Semperoper opera house. It was built by Gottfried Semper, thus its name, in the mid-19th century. It is said to be one of Germany's finest examples of neo-renaissance architecture. Fire destroyed it in 1869 and again in 1945. The current building is an exact replica of the original.
A tourist attraction for over 200 years, it's a pity that the Bastei Rock Formations are so unknown outside of Germany. These gorgeous geological formations are intriguing to say the least, and are located right in the heart of the Saxon Switzerland National Park. The panoramic scenery of the Elbe valley and its eponymous river from the top is breathtaking and has inspired many poets, painters and photographers.
Museum of Fine Arts
The Leipzig Museum Of Fine Arts displays a wide range of late middle ages to modern art. It houses around 3,500 paintings, 1000 sculptures and 60,000 graphical works. The museum came into being withe the Leipzig Art Association in 1837. After being destroyed during World War 2, the building has been successfully restored with much of the inventory being recovered. This museum is an integral part of the cultural heritage of East Germany. The Museum houses the famous Beethoven sculpture by Max Klinger.
One of the most amazing sights for us was the Zwinger. This amazing complex wascommissioned by Augustus II (the Strong), the elector of Saxony and king of Poland due to his passion for collecting paintings, sculpture, antiquities, but especially porcelain. His collection included 14,500 pieces of porcelain from China and Japan. He established the porcelain factory at Meissen in 1710. Augustus admitted his passion for porcelain was his maladie de porcelaine (porcelain sickness). Augustus began to build the Zwinger in 1711. It resembles a palace and can easily be mistaken for one. The architect Matthaus Daniel Poppelmann designed it. The Zwinger was destroyed during World War II and partly reconstructed in 1952 and 1963. Now it is fully reconstructed and restored, displaying the famous porcelain collection.