The name of the palace owes to more than thousand real and false doors, vast corridors in it. In 1985, the palace was handed over to the Archaeological Survey of India for better preservation. The museum is regarded as the biggest site museum of Archaeological Survey of India. This three-storey palace was built in 1837 by Duncan McLeod for the Nawab Najim Humaun Jah, descendent of Mir Zafar. The total area of Hazarduari Palace is 41 acres.