Where and how to apply for a Schengen visa?


For every country you visit, there is a separate visa unless you are visiting one of the Schengen countries. On 25 march 1995, 26 countries with no border controls came into an agreement that permits entry to visitors by obtaining a common visa. All of the Schengen countries have agreed upon common terms on entry requirements as well as a single visa application form. However, a Schengen visa’s validity may be limited to a single country or a specified number of countries.

Photo of Where and how to apply for a Schengen visa? 1/1 by Riddhi Mehta

Below is the detailed list of all Schengen countries:

• Austria

• Belgium

• the Czech Republic

• Denmark

• Estonia

• Finland

• France

• Germany

• Greece

• Hungary

• Iceland

• Italy

• Latvia

• Liechtenstein

• Lithuania

• Luxembourg

• Malta

• the Netherlands

• Norway

• Poland

• Portugal

• Slovakia

• Slovenia

• Spain

• Sweden

• Switzerland.

If you are planning to visit more than 1 Schengen states, then you are required to submit your visa application to the consulate or embassy of the country where you will spend the most days of your trip.

The process of applying for a Schengen visa:

It is important that you submit your visa application at least 15 days prior to the departure date. In general you can start applying for your visa 3 months prior to your visit date. The basic process of applying the visa is to visit the consulate of the country you are planning a trip to. However, if you want to simplify the process further, then it is advised to take the help of private travel portals. There are websites that let you apply for visa application online.

Documents required to apply for the Visa:

• Passport valid for at least 3 months beyond your departure date.

• A completed and signed visa application form.

• Passport size photographs.

Be the first one to comment