Ikkeri 1/undefined by Tripoto


Deeptangan Pant
In 1560 the capital of Nayakas was shifted from Keladi to Ikkeri, around 6kms from Sagara. A grand citadel was constructed in Ikkeri with a palace of mud and timber but today only the Aghoreshwara Temple remains standing tall amidst green fields. The temple is a mix of Vijayanagar, Hoysala, Chalukyas and Deccan architecture and was built using laterite. The other structures in the temple compound are a shrine of goddess Akhilandeshwari and an ornate pavilion with a chiseled statue of Nandi the bull.