Catacombs :Twenty meters underground of Paris , A genuine labyrinth in the heart of underground Paris, the Catacombs were fitted out in the galleries of former quarries.The Catacombs date back to the end of the 18th century, around 1788. They were built in the old Tombe-Issoire limestone quarries to move bones from Paris cemeteries that had fallen into ruin. The very first cemetery was Les Innocents, near the Les Halles neighborhood. The last cemetery was cleared in 1814. Stones from the quarries were used to build Notre-Dame Cathedral and the Louvre, and to fortify the city of Paris. Before entering the winding tunnels, visitors are greeted by a quote:Stop, here lies the Empire of Death".
Trip first published on Hopscotching-Panda
Part of the city’s efforts to store human remains from its overcrowded cemeteries, the tunnels run for more than 150 miles below ground, but only 1 mile is open to the public. No thanks!