The main citadel consists of crumbling ruins where interloping mounds are shaded by a canopy of coconut trees. Just when one is wondering if they have seen all there is to it, one will spot a navigable dirt road winding its way through the wild, unpruned grass. The road leads to the more well-preserved structures of the fort. There are the remains of what once was, the St. Anthony’s Church, built between 1537 and 1557 CE.
Its courtyard is symmetrical in its make, evident as when one ascends the stairs which lead you to a chamber behind the dome and peer through the arched window, the light shines right through a similar window from the balcony on the opposite end of the courtyard. The floor of the church has several graves, reading Latin and heralding the Portuguese origins of the fort. The courtyard of this church witnessed history as the treaty between the Maratha Generals and Kaitan Pereira D’Souza, the Portuguese captain was signed here following the Maratha accession of the fort in 1739.