Initially built on No. 13 Chowringhee Road as a private residence for the Grand Colonel in the nineteenth century, it was later converted into a boarding house by Mrs. Annie Monk. She later expanded her business by including several new plots nearby. One of these plots was occupied by a theatre, owned and managed by Mr. Stephen, an Armenian who later redeveloped the site as a modern hotel once the theatre burned down in 1911.
Known as a favourite among Britishers in Calcutta and a popular base for the soldiers during World War II, this hotel was known for hosting the most amazing parties during New Year especially. With events held regularly in the fancy ballroom, it was a popular destination during that era.
In the 1930s however, during a typhoid epidemic, the death of six people in the hotel resulted in its closure. In 1943, it was bought over by Mr. Mohan Singh Oberoi, the founder of the famous Oberoi Group. It was infact the first major hotel to be acquired by them. Due to it’s magnificent history, it is also popularly known as the Grand Dame of Chowringhee.
About the Hotel